The 7th Advisory Board (Fiscal 2012)

   The Advisory Board, an external committee whose role is to evaluate the work of NTT Basic Research Laboratories (BRL), met from January 28 - 30, 2013. This was the seventh meeting of the Advisory Board, which was first convened in 2001 to provide an objective evaluation of our research plans and activities to enable us to employ strategic management in a timely manner. On this occasion, we were happy to welcome six new members.
   Over the course of the three days the board made valuable suggestions and comments in relation to our research and management activities. They commented that the research level is generally high on an international scale, and that it is important for us to maintain this toplevel research and transmit information about our research achievements to the world. They also raised several issues related to human resources, the research budget and internal and external collaboration. We plan to make improvements based on these valuable suggestions.
   At this meeting, the BRL researchers had a lunch with the board members and a poster session, where they had chances to present their researches to the board members. The poster session was performed with the dinner party where the board members and the BRL researchers were able to interact in a casual atmosphere. For the BRL and NTT executives, we organized a Japanese style dinner, which provided a good chance to discuss the future management strategy of NTT BRL from an international perspective. The next board meeting will be held in two years.

Board Members Affiliation Research Field
Prof. Abstreiter Walter Schottky Inst. Low-dim. physics
Prof. Clarke Univ. California, Berkeley Superconductor physics
Prof. Hu Harvard Univ. Nanodevice
Prof. Jonson Göteborg Univ. Condensed matter
Prof. Sir Knight Imperial College Quantum optics
Prof. Leggett Univ. Illinois Quantum physics
Prof. MacDonald Univ. Texas Condensed matter
Prof. Offenhäusser Inst. Complex Systems Nano-bio electronics
Prof. Rubinsztein-Dunlop Univ. Queensland Quantum electronics
Prof. von Klitzing Max-Planck-Inst. Semiconductor physics