The 8th Advisory Board

The NTT BRL Advisory Board, first convened in 2001, held its 8th meeting during January 26 - 28 (2015). The focus of this Advisory Board was to provide an objective evaluation of our research activities, plans, and directions, so as to enable us to utilize strategic management to systematically coordinate and align our resources and actions in a timely manner. On this occasion, the board was composed of nine distinguished scientists.

Over the course of the three days, the board evaluated our work and made valuable suggestions and comments in relation to our research and its management. They indicated that our research level was globally leading, and but suggested that it was important for us to disseminate and publicize our research achievements more. They also raised several issues related to human resources, research budgets, and collaborations (both internal and external). We are actively addressing all these issues currently.

At this meeting, our BRL researchers had lunch with the board members and also met them during a lively poster session, where they had chances to present their research. The poster session also included a dinner party, so the board members and the BRL researchers were able to interact in a casual atmosphere. For the BRL and NTT executives, a Japanese style dinner was arranged. This provided an excellent good opportunity to discuss the future management strategy of NTT BRL with an international perspective in mind.

The next board meeting will be held in two years.

Board members Affiliation Research field
Prof. Abstreiter Walter Shottky Inst. Low-dimentional physics
Prof. Clarke Univ. California, Berkeley Superconductor physics
Prof. Hu Harvard Univ. Nanodevice
Prof. Jonson Univ. Gothenburg Condensed matter physics
Prof. Knight Imperial College London Quantum optics
Prof. Leggett Univ. Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Quantum physics
Prof. MacDonald The Univ. Texas at Austin Condensed matter physics
Prof. Offenhäusser Forschungszentrum Jülich Nano-bio electronics
Prof. Rubinsztein-Dunlop The Univ. Queensland Quantum electronics
Prof. von Klitzing Max Planck Inst. Semiconductor physics