Senior Distinguished Researcher

Masaya Notomi was born in Kumamoto, Japan, on 16 February 1964. He received his B.E., M.E. and Ph. D. degrees in applied physics from University of Tokyo, Japan in 1986, 1988, and 1997, respectively. In 1988, he joined NTT Optoelectronics Laboratories. Since then, his research interest has been to control the optical properties of materials and devices by using artificial nanostructures, and engaged in research on quantum wires/dots and photonic crystal structures. He has been in NTT Basic Research Laboratories since 1999, and a group leader of Photonic Nanostructure Research Group since 2004. He is also entitled as Senior Distinguished Scientist of NTT. From 1996-1997, he was with Linköping University in Sweden as a visiting researcher. He was a guest associate professor of Department of Applied Electronics in Tokyo Institute of Technology (2003-2009), and is currently a guest professor of Department of Physics in Tokyo Institute of Technology. He received IEEE/LEOS Distinguished Lecturer Award in 2006, JSPS (Japan Society for the Promotion of Science) prize in 2009, Japan Academy Medal in 2009, and The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Prize for Science and Technology, Research Category) in 2010. He is serving as a member of National University Corporation Evaluation Committee in the Japanese government. He is also a member of the Japan Society of Applied Physics, APS, IEEE, and OSA.


Hiroshi Yamaguchi was born in Osaka on October 30, 1961. He received the B.E., M.S. in physics and Ph.D. degrees in engineering from the Osaka University in 1984, 1986 and 1993, respectively. He joined NTT Basic Research Laboratories in 1986 and has engaged in the study of compound semiconductor surfaces using electron diffraction and scanning tunneling microscopy. His current interests are micro/nanomechanical devices using semiconductor heterostructures. He was a visiting research fellow in Imperial College, University of London, U.K. during 1995-1996 and a visiting research staff in Paul Drude Institute, Germany in 2003. He is a guest professor in Tohoku University from 2006 and a director of the Japanese Society of Applied Physics in 2008 and 2009. He served as more than 40 committee members of academic societies and international conferences. He received Inoue Prize for Science (2012), Institute of Physics Fellowship (2011), SSDM2009 Paper Award (2010), MNC2008 Outstanding Paper Award (2009), and the Paper Awards of Japan Society of Applied Physics (1989, 2004, 2010). He is currently an executive manager of Physical Science Laboratory and a group leader of Nanostructure Technology Research Group. He is a member of the Japan Society of Applied Physics, the Physical Society of Japan, Institute of Physics (UK), and IEEE.