Senior Distinguished Researcher

   Masaya Notomi was born in Kumamoto, Japan, on 16 February 1964. He received his B.E., M.E. and Ph.D. degrees in applied physics from University of Tokyo, Japan in 1986, 1988, and 1997, respectively. In 1988, he joined NTT Optoelectronics Laboratories. Since then, his research interest has been to control the optical properties of materials and devices by using artificial nanostructures, and engaged in research on quantum wires/dots and photonic crystal structures. He has been in NTT Basic Research Laboratories since 1999, and currently a group leader of Photonic Nanostructure Research Group and a director of NTT Nanophotonics Center. He is also entitled as Senior Distinguished Scientist of NTT since 2010. In 1996-1997, he was a visiting researcher of Linköping University (Sweden). He was a guest associate professor of Applied Electronics in 2003-2009 and is currently a guest professor of Physics in Tokyo Institute of Technology. He received IEEE/LEOS Distinguished Lecturer Award in 2006, JSPS (Japan Society for the Promotion of Science) prize in 2009, Japan Academy Medal in 2009, The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Prize for Science and Technology, Research Category) in 2010, and IEEE Fellow grade in 2013. He is serving as a member of National University Corporation Evaluation Committee in the Japanese government. He is also a member of the Japan Society of Applied Physics, APS, IEEE, and OSA.
   Hiroshi Yamaguchi was born in Osaka Japan on October 30, 1961. He received the B.E., M.S. in physics and Ph.D. degrees in engineering from the Osaka University in 1984, 1986 and 1993, respectively. He joined NTT Basic Research Laboratories in 1986 and has engaged in the study of compound semiconductor surfaces using electron diffraction and scanning tunneling microscopy. His current interests are micro/nanomechanical devices using semiconductor heterostructures. He was a visiting research fellow in Imperial College, University of London, U.K. during 1995-1996 and a visiting research staff in Paul Drude Institute, Germany in 2003. He is a guest professor in Tohoku University from 2006 and a director of the Japanese Society of Applied Physics (JSAP) in 2008 and 2009. He served as more than 40 committee members of academic societies and international conferences. He received JSAP Fellowship (2013), Commendation for Science and Technology by MEXT (2013), Inoue Prize for Science (2012), Institute of Physics (IOP) Fellowship (2011), SSDM2009 Paper Award (2010), MNC2008 Outstanding Paper Award (2009), and the Paper Awards of Japan Society of Applied Physics (1989, 2004, 2010). He is currently an executive manager of Quantum and Nano Device Research and a group leader of Hybrid Nanostructure Physics Research Group. He is a member of JSAP, the Physical Society of Japan, IOP, American Physical Society (APS), and IEEE.
   Koji Muraki was born in Tokyo, Japan in 1965. He received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in applied physics from The University of Tokyo, Japan, in 1989, 1991, and 1994, respectively. In 1994, he joined Basic Research Laboratories, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone (NTT) Corporation, Kanagawa, Japan. Since then, he has been engaged in the growth of high-mobility heterostructures and the study of highly correlated electronic states realized in such structures. He was a guest researcher at Max-Planck Institute, Stuttgart, Germany during 2001-2002. He served as a program committee/chair of international conferences on High Magnetic Fields in Semiconductor Physics (HMF) and Electronic Properties of Two-Dimensional Systems (EP2DS). He was a leader of physics research and epitaxy group of ERATO Nuclear Spin Electronics Project, Japan Science and Technology, during 2008-2013. He was appointed as Distinguished Scientist of NTT in 2009 and Senior Distinguished Scientist of NTT in 2013. He is a member of the Physical Society of Japan and Japan Society of Applied Physics.