The 9th Advisory Board

   The NTT BRL Advisory Board, which was first convened in 2001, held its 9th meeting on January 30 - 31, 2017. The aim of the Advisory Board is to provide an objective evaluation of our research plans and activities to enable us to employ strategic management in a timely manner. On this occasion, we had the meeting with five board members.
   Over the course of the two days, the board made valuable suggestions and comments in relation to our research and management activities. They commented that the research level was generally high on a worldwide point of view, and that it was important for us to maintain this top-level research and transmit information on our research achievements to the world. They also raised several issues related to human resources, the research budget and internal and external collaboration. We will improve research issues and managements based on these valuable suggestions.
   At this meeting, the BRL researchers had a lunch with the board members and a poster session, where they had chances to present their researches to the board members. The poster session was performed with the dinner party where the board members and the BRL researchers were able to interact in a casual atmosphere. For the BRL and NTT executives, we organized a Japanese style dinner, which provided a good chance to discuss the future management strategy of NTT BRL from an international perspective. The next board meeting will be held in two years.
Board members
Research field

Prof. John Clarke
Univ. California, Berkeley
Superconductor physics
Prof. Evelyn Hu
Harvard Univ.
Prof. Mats Jonson
Univ. Gothenburg
Condensed matter
Prof. Sir Peter Knight
Imperial College London
Quantum optics
Prof. Anthony J. Leggett
Univ. Illinois
Quantum physics
Prof. Allan H. MacDonald
Univ. Texas
Condensed matter
Prof. Andreas Offenhäusser
Forschungszentrum Jülich
Nano-bio electronics
Prof. Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop
Univ. Queensland
Quantum electronics
Prof. Klaus von Klitzing
Semiconductor physics